Visceral: Collected Flesh by Christine Morgan and Patrick C. Harrison III- Book Review

Visceral: Collected Flesh                                                           
Christine Morgan and Patrick C. Harrison III
Death’s Head Press (July 22, 2020)
eBook/ Trade Paperback/ 128 pp

“Some tales are best told wet, dripping with blood and bowels, like a freshly slaughtered steer, its flesh and organs splayed across the butcher’s floor for all the world to see. Whether reading such stories or seeing such slaughters, the observer is witnessing two primal truths: fear can be measured in body parts and death is rarely heroic. These eight tales were run through the meat grinder and served-up raw. If you’re going in, bring plenty of napkins.”

Something exciting happened on July 22, 2020 of this year. Can you guess what it was? Of course, you can’t. But that’s right, folks. It was the release of a great little collection of Splatterpunk stories from two brilliant minds working out there in the Splatter Field of dreams. Somewhere out there colorfully splattered in the Splattersphere lurks a Visceral book of tales doused in bloody fragments of collected flesh. These two said brilliant minds are the crimson brain pieces of author and horror book reviewer extraordinaire, Christine Morgan (Spermjackers From Hell, Dawn of the Living Impaired, White Death), as well as author and publisher extraordinaire, Patrick C. Harrison III (Death’s Head Press, Five Tales That Will Land You in Hell). With an introduction by no stranger to the genre of Splatterpunk himself is Splatterpunk guru, Ryan Harding (Genital Grinder, Reincarnage, Header 3 co-authored with Splatterpunk’s notorious All-Time Master Daddy Edward Lee). So, let’s sit back and take a look at these brilliant stories found within the pages of this ever-so-brilliant collaborative beautifully and relevantly titled ‘Visceral: Collected Flesh’. Proceed with caution.

Going Green/ C.M. 

Future society reminiscent of Burgess’s ‘Clockwork Orange,’ Zea wants to erase her carbon footprint with the help of Earthstock, when we as the reader will see how much she is really willing to charge for the sake of the environment.

Placenta/ PC3

A group of medical professionals share personal war stories when one of them asks the group what the worst thing they’ve ever seen is. Sam Garfield takes that placenta cake to a whole new level here, when he recalls firsthand accounts of a patient who delivers a placenta demon whilst in bloody labor.

Vicarious/ C.M.

A first-person account of a donor addict who donates more than just blood after discovering that they’re able to see/feel the recipients’ personal journeys, so the donor is able to live a more fulfilling/adventurous life from the confines of their own home. A weekly visit to the library may be enough after all.

Full Moon Shindig/ PC3

A military man is back in town when his friends invite him over and throw a little local hometown party. Once at the party he discovers more than a Full moon going on that night when finding out that a young girl has been tied up to the pool table may not be what she may seem. Think Ketchum’s ‘The Girl Next Door’ meets Stephen King’s ‘Silver Bullet’ with the brutality and depravity knobs cranked to the max.

Little Fingers/ C.M.

Something much more sinister is going on behind the scenes here when a teacher creates an unforgettable Halloween game of reach your hand in the box and guess what it is inside there, folks? It feels like something lifeless and lifelike at the sametime, but you’ll never guess what it is…

Mildred’s Garden/ PC3

When a jealous neighbor tries to sabotage an award-winning garden nearby, things begin to get a little weird and messy before taking a turn for the worse, and by worse I mean DEATH.

Bad Taste/ C.M.

“Oh, hell to the fuck no…” Who needs therapy when you can heat up a metal torture device to near death temperatures, stick it in your mouth, and melt your effing face off?

Pigs/ PC3

In conclusion, we as the reader are pushed out the door with a tale of half human/pig hybrids in this pig pen reminiscent of Dr. Moreau’s ‘House of Pain.’

Often shocking, brutal, bloody, and always thought-provoking this collection was a great time and then some. The two author’s styles and skillset are very well accompanied by each other’s here, whilst making this collection an even more entertaining and enjoyable read overall. I would also like to note that this was a personal first for me reading anything by PC3, but it will definitely not be the last. With that being said, I would also like to point out that I am in by no means a stranger to the brilliant work of author Christine Morgan, who somehow manages to keep getting better and better with each and every release. These two give us as the reader an honest run for our money here in this bloody homerun of an unforgettable collaborative collection. For fans of Extreme Dark Fiction, Weird Fiction, Splatterpunk, Horror and Bizarro Fiction alike.

Do yourself a favor and check it out!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s